For a better experience please change your browser to CHROME, FIREFOX, OPERA or Internet Explorer.
Profile Pic

Set of books Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke (unread copies)

Price : $40.00
Date : April 10, 2020
Location : Coquitlam, BC V3C5A6

This Trilogy was give to me as a gift and to be honest I never read them so I thought I would list them for sale rather than have them keep collecting dust on the bookshelf. Although Cornelia Funke writes for a younger audience these books could be read by anyone who can delve into the world of make believe (like the Harry Potter series) The Inkheart paperback has a small repaired tear on the cover and the Inkspell paperback is in unread condition and the Inkdeath book is a hardcover also in unread condition Would make a nice gift for a person with magical interests.Below are brief descriptions of each bookINKHEART BY CORNELIA FUNKESuitable for Grades 4-8- An inventive plot and memorable characters will draw listeners into Cornelia Funke’s fantasy (Scholastic, 2003). Twelve-year-old Meggie and Mo, her book binder father, are fleeing their old enemy, Capricorn, when they arrive at Great Aunt Eleanor’s book-lined villa in Italy. Though the three of them are brave and wily by turns, their cruelly-powerful nemesis manages to find them and their copy of the book, Inkheart. That’s when Meggie learns about her father’s extraordinary ability to read book characters into life, and the events that caused her mother’s disappearance when Capricorn emerged from the title book. Meggie, Mo, Eleanor, and a host of friends and enemies go through plot twists that involve captures, escapes and, finally, an end to Capricorn’s reign of terror. At the heart of it all, is the power of story and family love. Print Length: 545 pages Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0439531640 Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks (October 1, 2011) Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Language: English ASIN: B005OBBV44 INKSPELL BY CORNELIA FUNKESuitable for Grades 5 & Up–This sequel begins a year after the conclusion of Funke’s popular Inkheart (Scholastic, 2003). In this fantasy world, certain readers have the power to bring characters out of books–and send them back. Meggie and Farid, apprentices to the fire-eater Dustfinger, follow him to the Inkworld, the land of the book-within-a-book, Inkheart, after he has been read back into its story by a mysterious man named Orpheus. Orpheus uses his powers to read Mortola and Basta, some of the villains of the first volume, into the story, along with Meggie’s parents. In Inkworld, Meggie enlists the help of Fenoglio, the original author of Inkheart, to help create a new future for her parents and herself as palace intrigues, war, and the Silver Prince threaten. The story moves along at a rapid pace, from Farid and Dustfinger’s original meeting with Orpheus to Farid’s warning of Mortola’s return to the shift of action to the Inkworld and the heightening conflict in both worlds. Expanding on the ideas behind Inkheart, Funke explores what might happen if authors try to change the world they have created. Familiar characters and those new to this volume are clearly drawn. This is an involving story that will draw readers smoothly to its conclusion and leave them waiting for the final volume in this projected trilogy Product DetailsPrint Length: 675 pages Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0439554012 Publisher: The Chicken House (October 1, 2011) Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Language: English ASIN: B005ONK5Z8 INKDEATH BY CORNELIA FUNKESuitable for Grades 5–9–This final volume in the trilogy returns readers to Inkworld and its wide cast of characters. Under the rule of the evil Adderhead, it is a bleak and dangerous place. General gloominess bogs down the pace initially, as several characters agonize, sometimes tiresomely, over past regrets and the dire uncertainty of the future. Meggie, despite her gift of magical reading, remains a disappointingly dull protagonist, but other characters are quite compelling. Her bookbinding father, for instance, emerges as a swashbuckling outlaw, and, when he brings the fire-dancer Dustfinger back from the dead, things get really interesting. The assortment of villains is vivid and frightening, especially Mortola, who can change shape, and the immortal Adderhead. Even more intriguing is Mo, who evolves into a powerful and complex scoundrel as he explores the evil potential of his unique ability to make up stories, then read them into reality. The finale includes a thoroughly engrossing climax as the Adderhead and Mo meet their doom, though a subplot involving Meggie and her companions is less exciting. Despite occasional weaknesses in plotting and characterization, Funke successfully explores ideas of fate, free will, and the power of story in a multilayered tale with many dramatic moments, bringing the series to a satisfying conclusion. Summaries of the first two books and a list of names and places are provided for those new to the series, but this last instalment will be appreciated most by readers who start with the first title.
Interested in this item and not located in the Greater Vancouver Area. I can arrange the item to be mailed if the item and postage is prepaid. Email reply with postal code if you would like a quote for mailing. I can only accept an email transfer or Paypal (with a fee) for payment.



Post your rating

Safety tips for deal
  1. Use a safe location to meet seller
  2. Avoid cash transactions
  3. Beware of unrealistic offers
Featured Ads